"De Papeloze Kerk" D49 - D30 = 15km
During the 16th Century this dolmen was used as the pulpit for secret protestant services, called "hagepreken", against the Catholic regime. Hence its name : "The church without Catholics".
During a dolmen inventorisation in 1918 this grave was found to be "in a most regrettable state". The only two remaining of the 6 roof-stones had slipped down into the grave chamber, Two of the 12 support-stones were missing, as well as five entry-stones and almost all ring-stones.
In 1959 D49 was in its original state (except for one half of the covering earth) restored by the Dutch archeologist Van Giffen. Many of the missing stones were replaced by material from other dolmen, notably D33 (which was removed).
These days D49 is the undisputed gem amongst the remaining dolmen in Drenthe and a very popular tourist attraction.
The dolmen can be accessed through a lovely wood lane along the huifkarrencentrum.